Taking too long? Try again or cancel this request.

IndieFab Awards

Foreword Reviews' IndieFab Awards were established to bring increased attention to librarians and booksellers of the literary and graphic achievements of independent publishers and their authors. Foreword is the only review trade journal devoted exclusively to books from independent houses.

Our unique awards process brings readers, librarians, and booksellers together to select their top categories as well as choose the winning titles. Their decisions are based on editorial excellence, professional production, originality of the narrative, author credentials relative to the book, and the value the book adds to its genre.

If your books expand a reader's world, introduce a voice society needs to hear, offer practical knowledge where none existed before, or simply entertain so compellingly that all distractions fall away, they should be submitted for the IndieFab Award.

Judging Criteria

Keeping in mind the standard used by booksellers and librarians for purchases/acquisitions, judges will take note of the following:

  • Editorial excellence
  • Intent of book met by author
  • Originality of subject matter
  • Accuracy
  • Author credentials
  • Professional packaging

Finalists will be determined by a jury of judges consisting of editors and reviewers of Foreword Reviews, booksellers, librarians, and other industry professionals.

Prizes & Awards

First, second, and third place winners will be awarded in each category. A $1,500 cash prize will also be awarded to Best Fiction and Best Nonfiction as determined by the editors of Foreword Reviews. Foreword Reviews reserves the right to withhold an award in any category should submissions not meet criteria outlined by editorial and professional production standards mentioned above.

Finalists will be announced in March 2013 on our website; on Twitter, Facebook, and Google+; and in our weekly email newsletter, Foreword This Week.

Winners in each category and overall fiction and nonfiction prize winners will be announced at the American Library Association annual conference and on our website in June of 2013.